Prospective Graduate

It has, yet again been weeks since I last posted, despite all my good intentions. But, I have lots of news, not only on the knitting front, but in other areas of my life as well.

The primary thing that has been claiming my attention, is the news that I was accepted to both of the graduate schools that I applied to! I have chosen to attend St. John’s in Rome, but am now going through the deferment process and getting everything squared away.

Since I last wrote, I finished a big (well, big for me so far in my limited experience) spinning project. I started with two 2 oz. braids of roving from Capistrano Fibers, one, a merino roving in a colorway called “Crayola,” and the second, a BFL roving in a colorway called “Turquoise Trail II.” I spun each of these rovings into a bobbin of singles, which you can see here.

At this point in the process I was a bit wary of how they would spin up together. I remember that they looked good together at the festival, but I thought that plying them might be a different matter. Luckily, it turned out beautifully. Here it is all finished and skeined, with a coin for scale. I would say it ranges from laceweight to a light fingering.

This is definitely my most successful and even spinning to date and I’m quite pleased with it. My mother was even more pleased than I, and since she coveted it so, I gave it to her as a Mother’s Day gift.

Next in blogland: Posts on the LYS Tour, finished projects, and more spinning!

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

