Workshop

I make such promises to update my blog regularly, but I guess the reality is that it might not be as often as I wish. For one thing, time spent blogging is time NOT spent knitting. So, if it comes down to the two, well, you know. I have gotten a goodly amount of knitting done in the past few weeks. Last I wrote I had maybe ten different projects going on. I’m pleased to say I’ve finished two of them. The first was an Odessa knit with Manos del Uruguay Silk Blend in the colorway “Wild Flower.” This isn’t the best picture of it, the background kind of eats it up, but you get a good idea of how the silk makes it shine a little. I’m very glad I finished this project first, because I wear it to work now every morning to keep out the cold wind blowing off of the Puget Sound waterfront.

After the hat, I finished a great pair of plain-vanilla socks. These are knit out of Fleece Artist Merino 2/6 in the colorway “Twilight.” I love the colors so much, and they are perfect with a pair of blue jeans if you want to dress a little more demurely.

I’ve also been meaning to post on a workshop that my mother and I went to at Wild Fibers in Mount Vernon, Washington. It was a shawl workshop taught by Stephen West and we had a lot of fun. It’s always nice to go over the basics of shawl construction so that you can really understand what your doing and why instead of just following a pattern. Also, we can now do a little designing of our own! Here is a picture of us. I’m in the black sweatshirt in the middle of the photo and my mom is behind me, wearing the ocean-colored shawl that I knit her for Christmas. I want to note that although I did not take this picture myself, I got permission from Wild Fibers to put it on my blog.

Just yesterday I finished posting my second graduate school application and can now say that I am finally finished with the whole process. I don’t know if they will want me to do interviews or when, but, I should be hearing back from them in a few weeks. Now that I’m finished I should be looking for a paying job to supplement my internship, but after that stressful ordeal I really just want to decompress for a couple of weeks. Actually, I could probably stand many weeks! I’ve been keeping myself busy with the internship, Catholic initiation classes, and lots of volunteering.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

